Gaming Awards Open for Entry September 12

2018 SXSW Gaming Awards - Photo by Thomas Tischio

Update: The Gaming Awards are now open for all entries.

Enter for the Gaming Awards

The SXSW Gaming Awards will open for all applications beginning Tuesday, September 12. With 24 categories in total, which encompass all verticals of the gaming industry, mark your calendars for what will be a monumental opportunity to gain world-class recognition for your game project at SXSW Gaming 2018.

Having premiered at SXSW 2014 with hosts SMOSH and iJustine, the Gaming Awards have since grown into a staple of the SXSW Gaming experience. Thousands of SXSW attendees flock to the Gaming Awards to join in on the celebration and to see who will win each award, with prior Game of the Year winners including Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End, The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt, Dragon Age: Inquisition, and The Last of Us. View the full list of previous winners.

The Gaming Awards also present unique opportunities for independent game developers and teams through the Gamer’s Voice Award competition. Through this competition, SXSW Gaming invites dozens of independent games to exhibit at the festival with a complimentary booth. From there, SXSW Gaming attendees will vote to determine the winner of each Gamer’s Voice Award category, which will be revealed on the night of the Gaming Awards ceremony.

Prior Gamer’s Voice Award winners have included renown titles such as Owlboy, ARENA GODS, Gang Beasts, SUPERHOT, SpeedRunners, and Nidhogg.

2018 is slated to be the ceremony’s biggest show yet, marking its fifth anniversary at SXSW. Be ready for September 12, and apply this fall to be a part of this historic event!

2017 SXSW Gaming Awards – Photo by Thomas Tischio

2017 SXSW Gaming Awards

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for the latest updates on all things SXSW Gaming!


Estevan Aviles

Gaming Festival Programming Specialist

Stay Tuned

Sign up to receive the latest announcements, tips, networking invitations and more.